Prop 63 goes into effect on July 1, 2019, making it more difficult for California residents to buy ammunition.
Passed on the November 2016 ballot, the Prop 63 law will require all businesses selling ammunition to have a customer show a government-issued photo ID and pay for their own background check from the National Instant Criminal Background System (NICS). A statewide criminal background check typically runs $10-$20. It will also require all California residents to buy ammo in person from licensed dealers instead of online.
Additional restrictions under Prop 63 include fines for failing to report lost/stolen guns and making ammunitions magazines holding more than 10 rounds illegal. However, in March 2019, a San Diego-based U.S. District judge upheld a lawsuit against the ban of high-capacity magazines, stating that it “hits at the center of the Second Amendment and its burden is severe.”
The blog posts and e-newsletters from Lester & Cantrell, LLP are for informational purposes only and not for the purpose of providing legal advice. Please contact our attorneys to obtain advice with respect to any particular issue or problem. Use of and access to this Web site or any of the e-mail links contained within the site do not create an attorney-client relationship between Lester & Cantrell, LLP and the user. Any opinions expressed on our blogs/e-newsletters are the opinions of the individual author and may not reflect the opinions of the firm or any individual attorney.