With the passage of AB 2610, commercial drivers transporting feed to customers in rural areas will be permitted to deviate from standard California meal break laws. Generally, employers must provide 30-minute meal breaks for employees who work more than 5 hours a day.
AB 2610 will allow commercial feed drivers to work up to 6 hours before taking the required meal break if the driver’s regular pay rate is no less than 1 1/2 times California’s minimum wage, and the driver receives overtime compensation.
For more information about AB 2610, check out the California Legislative Information website.
The blog posts and e-newsletters from Lester & Cantrell, LLP are for informational purposes only and not for the purpose of providing legal advice. Please contact our attorneys to obtain advice with respect to any particular issue or problem. Use of and access to this Web site or any of the e-mail links contained within the site do not create an attorney-client relationship between Lester & Cantrell, LLP and the user. Any opinions expressed on our blogs/e-newsletters are the opinions of the individual author and may not reflect the opinions of the firm or any individual attorney.